Oh, Photography. I just can’t let you go.

Here I go again.  I just can’t let it go.  Photography – you are a part of me.

After photographing my brother’s wedding, I’ve had a serious itch to get back in the business.  Weddings are a bit too stressful for me at the moment but I’ve always loved photographing people.  Portraits are perfect for me!  It’s a little slower pace yet still allows capturing that sincere smile or unspoken bond between two people.  I’m slightly addicted to editing, too.  I spent hours (literally houuuuurs) each day for almost 2 weeks editing Cale and Amanda’s wedding photos.  I had to force myself to close the computer and go to bed.  I love it!

I’m still deciding but I’ve almost made up my mind to try this whole “professional photographer” thing again.  It would just be part time and I would only do portraits.  I’m getting pretty excited!  I just feel like I need to give it another shot because I love it so much.

Once the business idea ran through my head, I immediately thought of this new thing called “Lifestyle Photography”.  It’s really not anything new but it’s become quite popular lately.  I’m in love with this style.  I’ve always loved shooting outdoors and it’s still my preference, especially since I don’t have a studio, but regardless of that, I just feel like scenery and light quality is better.  However, “better” is a personal preference.  Lifestyle photography basically means you capture your life on camera.  You know, everyday stuff.  Snuggling in bed, eating ice cream on the kitchen floor, playing with your kids in your living room, wearing your pajamas at 2 in the afternoon, anything you do on a day to day basis.  I feel like this style really romanticizes your life.  So I decided to try practicing this style with my own life, i.e. my own family.  I think they turned out wonderful.  I really do.

IMG_0149

IMG_0152

IMG_0156

IMG_0159

IMG_0162

IMG_0164

IMG_0166

IMG_0170

IMG_0171a

I especially love this in-home style in black and white, but color is fun, too.

So what do you all think?  Should I go for it again???

Talk to you soon

Save

4 thoughts on “Oh, Photography. I just can’t let you go.

Leave a Comment

