Make your own apron!

IMG_4625

First off, I really do have to warn you all about my awful instructions for this post, because well, there really are none.  Sorry…I decided to write it anyway…

My best friend’s bridal shower was yesterday and I really wanted to give her something special, besides lingerie of course (hehe).  I was given a handmade apron for one of my bridal showers and I really loved it.  It’s traditional and homey.  Since I’m loving my sewing machine these days, I thought making an apron for her would be a perfect gift especially because she and her guy just bought a house a month and a half ago.

I looked up some apron sewing tutorials online but most of them were way too complicated for me.  I tried buying a pattern from Joanns but that was even more complicated.  Apparently patterns are super easy to follow, according to my mother, but looking at that fragile thing gave me anxiety.  I threw it out.  So what did I do?  Ha!  I remembered I made a really simple apron in 4H when I was like 11 years old, it was part of the one and only sewing class I took.  I dug it out of my kitchen drawer and decided I could just use that as a guide (just realized that I’ve had a rainbow apron for 17 years now…wow).  I mean, couldn’t I just lay that apron on top of my material and cut around it, leaving enough room for the hem?  Sure!  Pockets are easy too!  And gosh, I could just sew on some wide ribbon for the straps right?  Right!

That’s seriously what I did…

I know, some of you reading this are probably outraged, man I hope my mom doesn’t read this.

So I went to Joanns, excited that I had my plan in place and positive it was going to work out.  I found some awesome wine themed fabric that I thought would be perfect for the pockets and matched it with a wine colored fabric for the main part of the apron.  I got some pretty black buttons to add (I wasn’t sure where I would add them but knew I wanted them on that apron), and I threw in some nice black ribbon for the straps.  When I got it all home I ironed the fabrics and pulled out my cutting mat and rotary cutter.  I literally did what I mentioned above.  I laid down my wine colored fabric, placed my old apron on top and just sort of cut around it carefully, leaving about an inch of extra fabric on all sides.  I folded over each side of the apron twice, about a 1/2 inch each time (so using that extra 1 inch of material we left around the old apron), ironed it and pinned in place.  I sewed up the edges and voila, I had my main apron piece!  I made the pockets basically the same way, but folding over each side twice, ironing, pinning and sewing.  I then sewed them onto the apron where I thought they looked good.  Of course you only sew the bottom and two sides though, leaving the top open…you know, because it’s a pocket. 🙂  I sewed on the ribbon to each side of the top piece of the apron and trimmed it afterwards.  I also decided to make the belt strap into an actual belt looking piece so I sewed an entire piece of ribbon around the waist of the apron and left excess for the ties.  I placed the buttons where the top ties met the apron and sewed them on.  And there ya have it.  I know, this post is seriously not helpful to anyone looking to make an apron and I don’t suggest using my idea as a guide, but it actually worked out and I’m honestly surprised at how cute it turned out!  Haha!  I say this a lot in my posts and I’m positive I’ll continue saying it, it’s far from perfect!  Pictures below…

Here is the hem on the sides of the apron, after folding twice and sewing:

IMG_4629

The buttons on the top:

IMG_4627

The finished product:

IMG_4626

And me modeling my work:

IMG_4622

I hope that wasn’t TOOOO awful…

Talk to you soon

Leave a Comment

