A day off

I haven’t had a day to myself in over a year.  I get a couple of hours here and there, typically on the weekends when Kyle watches A.  That’s not really the same as having a full day off to just do your thing.  Sure, I’ve had girl outings and fun times since having Andrew but I rarely get a day off, by myself, for myself.

Today is New Year’s Eve and our office at work is closed.  However, it’s Thursday, a day I normally take A to daycare, and daycare is open.

As I was pulling out of the driveway, I felt a little guilty leaving Andrew with Phyllis.  I don’t ever do this!  I normally take any chance I get to be with my little guy but I had a gift card burning a hole in my wallet.  My guilt quickly turned into excitement.  Andrew will be fine!  He loves daycare and it’s just ONE day!  First, I went to my favorite coffee shop (no it’s not Starbucks, sorry).  I ordered my favorite almond milk latte and an egg & cheese frittata sandwich.  I sat inside and seriously smiled the whole time.  Don’t get me wrong, I love hanging out with Andrew and I always miss him when he’s not with me but I was already loving this day.

Next, I walked around a beautiful outdoor shopping mall in our area, this is where I had my gift card.  This shopping mall is pretty upscale so naturally, I went to the cheapest store there – Ross!  I bought a new purse that I just love!  It was fuh-reeeeezing outside but I walked the long road to my other favorite store and bought a few presents for some friends.  I also got Andrew a “Thomas the train” Christmas ornament that was 1/2 off.  Okay, by this time it’s only 11 am…hmmm…

I texted Kyle to see if he wanted to meet for lunch but this is his busiest day of the year so he said he couldn’t.  I decided I would just take myself out to lunch!  Before lunch though, I ran to Old Navy and Marshalls.  I bought some new pajama bottoms and a cute little shirt for Andrew with a bow tie.  Gah, I’m a sucker for bow ties.  Welp, money’s gone which means shopping is over!  Off to lunch I go!

It’s a little weird going to lunch by yourself.  I mean, Taco Bell or one of those places is fine, but a sit down restaurant is a little awkward. Today I didn’t care.  Today I was enjoying every second.  I ate at a terrific eatery called Crepevine.  Man do I love their food!  I got a Greek style crepe with a side salad and a vanilla italian soda, yum!  I know, who cares what I ate?  It was good though!

IMG_4295

I had to run to the grocery store to pick up some stuff for tonight.  We’re making appetizers for the holiday and staying in of course.  Then I came home, showered and got ready.  After that I prepped some of the food for tonight and now I’m sitting here writing this.  It’s almost 4, almost time to go get A.

I know you all could probably care less what I did today but it’s rare that I get a day to myself.  It was so wonderful.  I love love love being home and having a family, it’s my greatest blessing, but feeling like a 28 year old young woman today was pretty spectacular.  I think we all have to remember to take some “me” time every now and then.  I feel like it revitalized me.  I sound like a broken record but I just feel so lucky, especially today, when I’m free and alive.

Talk to you soon

Leave a Comment

