DIY Felt Christmas Tree

On Saturday I had to run to the mall to pick up a birthday present for my mom.  Kyle and Andrew came with me and while we were there, we saw that Santa was already set up.  There was no one in line and we were planning on taking Andrew to see Santa anyway, so we decided to do the whole shebang and buy a photo.  I was so excited as this was Andrew’s first time visiting Santa!  As we approached the bearded man dressed in red, Andrew grew fearful.  He gripped my arm harder and harder the closer we got.  Santa told us that with kids Andrew’s age we normally have about a 10 second window before the child starts screaming bloody murder.  I handed Andrew to Santa and in less than a second he cried.  He was NOT excited about asking for toys and presents. We got a pretty comical photo out of it though. 🙂

image

So it begins – my excitement for Christmas!  And it’s not even Thanksgiving yet.  I try not to start celebrating a holiday before another holiday.  I HATE when stores decorate for Christmas and play Christmas music before Thanksgiving, but here I am giving in.  Since we took Andrew to see Santa, I figured I would just keep the spirit coming.

Another blogger posted a “how to” for a DIY felt Christmas tree.  See original blog post here:  http://www.thephotographerswife.com/diy-felt-christmas-tree/.  I thought it was brilliant, especially for a toddler just a tad bit older than Andrew.  They get their very own Christmas tree that they can decorate and re-decorate over and over again, hopefully leaving the real one alone (yeah right, huh?).  Andrew is a little too young for this because he doesn’t fully understand things yet but I thought it would at least keep him entertained, which it does by the way.  So once again, off to Joanns we went!

I bought one yard of green felt, which ended up being wayyyy too much for the size of the tree I was making.  A half yard would have been plenty.  My tree is about 12 inches by 36 inches.  Keep in mind that when you buy fabric it is normally folded in half before they cut it.  I also bought a bunch of smaller squares of felt in assorted colors to make the ornaments and presents.  They even sell felt squares in different colored designs, which was perfect for the presents because it kind of looks like wrapping paper.  I picked up some sticky foam squares as well – for sticking the tree to the wall.  At checkout I used a 20% off coupon and walked out of there with all of my supplies for a whopping $11.  Hooray!

image

I followed the original blog’s suggestion of folding the green felt in half to cut out the Christmas tree so the tree would be symmetrical.  I didn’t draw any lines or anything, I just cut it out by looking at the original blog’s photo.  As you see here, Andrew was “helping”. 🙂

image

image

Here it is after unfolding.

image

Not bad!

Here’s where things got a bit “sticky” (pun intended).  I took my sticky foam squares and placed them onto the back of the tree.  When I stuck the tree to the wall, I noticed that they stuck great to the wall but not great to the felt.  I ended up taking them all off and hot gluing them to the felt, THEN sticking it back on the wall.

image

image

I then took my other small pieces of felt and started cutting out various shapes to make the ornaments, and of course cut out a star for the top of the tree.  I didn’t use a template because I figured Andrew wouldn’t care if it was perfect, and neither did I.  I just starting cutting and they actually came out pretty well.  I hot glued smaller circles onto larger ones, and added strips of one color to another.  I left some plain as well.  I added strips to the “presents” to make them look like they had ribbon.  All in all, not too shabby!

image

image

image

I had no idea that felt would just stick to other felt.  This was an incredible piece of knowledge for this project because I didn’t have to add Velcro to the ornaments or tape or anything, they just stick to the tree.  You do have to push on them a little to help them stick but not too much.

image

 

image

It turned out pretty cute!  I’m happy with it.  It’s festive and Andrew likes it…I think.  He likes to take off all of the ornaments and run around with them.  I’m trying to teach him how to put the ornaments back on, but he’s not interested.  Whatever makes him happy is what I say!  He also hands the presents to his dad and I which is pretty cute.  He’s into that lately – bringing us “gifts”.

image

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!  Cheesy I know…

Talk to you soon

Leave a Comment

