Just Breathe

Just when I was about to lose my mind, I changed it.

I stress.  It’s no secret.  I stress and worry wayyyy too much.  What kind of life is that?  Where you stress and worry about literally everything?  That’s no fun!  My husband is always telling me to “let it go” or “stop worrying” or even “do what makes you happy”; you have to be happy in life.

I write this because lately I’ve been going crazy trying to get my son to eat.  I’ve talked about this before – his lack of interest in eating solids.  I stress about him eating healthy foods, too.  I just want him to eat things that are good for him!  Since switching him from formula to whole milk, things have been worse.  He spits things out or simply refuses to eat anything.  He only wants his bottle.  He wakes up hungry and wakes up sooooo freakin’ early!  Before all of this he was sleeping until 5 or 5:30 pretty religiously but this last week it’s been 4 am.  I was just starting to lose it yesterday because I was so tired!  Why won’t he eat?  What do I do?  How do I get him to eat so he will sleep longer?  Will he sleep longer if he eats more?  Is there some secret I don’t know about?

Last night I picked Andrew up from daycare, took him home and immediately started thinking about his eating habits.  I decided to try making a smoothie again, which he has refused many times.  I blended frozen fruit, spinach and Kefir.  This time – he ate some!  A lot actually!  Yay!  Finally some fruits and vegetables!  Halle-freakin’-lujah!  So then dinner rolled around and I made tacos.  While cooking our ground turkey, I was holding Andrew (because he loves to watch me cook) and while I was holding him I kept feeding him little spoonfuls of refried beans.  He ate quite a bit.  We sat down for dinner and I put Andrew in his high chair.  I gave him some ground turkey and he dove right in.  I figured since he was acting hungry I would give him some other food.  I made him a little quesadilla but it wasn’t really a “quesadilla”.  I basically took a tortilla, spread some refried beans and guacamole on it and sprinkled just a little cheese, folded it in half and handed it to him.  Normally I cut things up into bite sized pieces for him but I just gave him this and he started taking bites.  He ate the entire thing!  I was shocked!

My point is this, patience doesn’t get enough credit.  I’m incredibly impatient and because of that I stress, which is horrible for my well being.  I can’t force Andrew to eat and I can’t make him like everything I put in front of him, all I can do is be patient and keep trying.  Motherhood is so hard sometimes and I don’t think I will ever stop worrying, but I can stop stressing.  I can control that and I need to work on it.  Andrew slept until 5:40 this morning and I was so happy!  You see, everything eventually work itself out!

I know I’m not alone on this so for those of you going through the “stress” phase, hang in there!  Breathe!  Try to relax a little!  We’re doing a good job, whether we really believe that or not.

e5bff146f4eeda2fa5745db7be9bcb8d

Talk to you soon

 

 

Leave a Comment

