Andrew’s First Birthday Party!!!

My baby is ONE!  How can that be?  Where the heck did the time go?

We had a small birthday party for Andrew on Saturday the 17th at my mom and dad’s house and it was so much fun.  Very casual and low key but intimate and wonderful.  My uncle came to help us celebrate and he traveled about 3 hours to do so.  One of my best friends also traveled 3 hours to come to his party and I was so grateful.  Even her mom came and she ALSO drove 3 hours to get there.  My husband’s good friend was there and other close family as well.  We are so lucky to have such awesome people in our lives!  Thank you all for coming to celebrate!

SURPRISE GUEST!?!  MY BESTIE!  My best friend lives in Washington so we don’t get to see each other too often.  However, her parents live near me so when she visits them I get to see her as well, which is awesome!  I was bummed that she wouldn’t be able to come to Andrew’s party but obviously I understood.  I never expected her to show up to the party and totally surprise me!…..But she did!  She and my mom were sneaky little devils and planned the surprise, which totally worked.  I saw her pulling into the driveway, ran outside and burst into tears.  I was so excited!  She’s amazing.  She’s such a good friend to me and I’ll never forget it!  Awhh, still taking it in and feeling wonderful!

So back to the party.  A’s party was Mickey Mouse themed because whenever Mickey comes on TV he smiles – too funny!  At least he used to do that.  It seems like he does that less and less these days but for a few months or so he smiled EVERY single time Mickey came on. Oh so cute.  Everything turned out so cute for the party!  My mom was such a huge help with decorating and helping prepare food.  She even decorated the darn guest bathroom!  How kooky is that?! Haha!  Totally not surprising if you know my mother, but still hilarious!  She had a Mickey Mouse shower curtain, bath mat, and towels.  Her reasoning was that she can continue to use it all when he (we) visits and he will love it, maybe even look forward to it…see pictures below.  Oh man – I just love her.

I found so many great food ideas on Pinterest (of course) and made some food tags to go along with the Mickey theme.  The same friend who made Andrew’s “cake smash” cake also made another mini cake for him for the party and a larger cake for the adults.  They were once again ADORABLE!  And so yummy!  I bought most of the decorations on Amazon and at Party City, including an awesome and gigantic blowup Mickey, which Andrew was terrified of!  He wouldn’t go near it, and he would almost shake from fear of the darn thing…oh well.  My mom and I cut out strips of Mickey scrapbook paper and taped them to some water bottles to spruce them up a bit.  I made a highchair banner out of some rope, ribbon, and card-stock.  I’ve already showed you all the First Birthday Poster I made and I also printed out a First Birthday Poem that I just loved.  I brought some pictures of his “cake smash” photo-shoot to show everyone and I also brought his 1-12 month picture frame (so crazy how much they change in just one year!).  I made everyone wear Mickey party hats for a group picture – even my grandpa!  Presents, food, and people we love – what more could we ask for?  Well, besides a few very important people who couldn’t be there because of distance, darn!  Overall the adults had a great time and Andrew, well he was overwhelmed with the amount of people, terrified of the giant blowup Mickey and overly tired so he didn’t have the greatest day.  When it was time for cake, he cried and cried and we couldn’t calm him down so his little personal cake didn’t even get touched…again, oh well.  The pictures are sorta funny because of that.

In total, it was a very successful first birthday party and I feel so grateful that we were able to give Andrew so much love on such a special day.  See pictures below and I had to share my Facebook Status post – sums it all up.  Happy Birthday, Tweety Bird!

Here are pictures of the guest bathroom, so cute!

image

image

image

image

image

She even got shower hooks lol

image

Here are party pictures!

image

The evil Giant Mickey… LOL (we thought it was cool!)

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I’m pretty sure my brother ate the missing two deviled eggs before I took my picture…

image

image

image

image

image

image

My mom’s adorable little sign.  My husband’s birthday is only 5 days after Andrew’s so we tried to include him in the birthday celebration.

image

My baby is no longer a baby, look at this kid!

image

I just loved his birthday onesie that I ordered him from Etsy!

image

His favorite present was the ribbon…LOL

image

Yep, already screaming.

image

image

NOT HAPPY!

image

Oh my gosh, it’s sad but kinda funny.

image

The only good family picture from the day.  I love this one though.

image

We went out to dinner that night to celebrate Kyle’s birthday.  Great food!

image

Below is my Facebook post that I wrote for Andrew’s special day.  It still makes me a little teary.

“One year ago I woke up at 2 am with contractions, paced the living room until 7 am, took a shower and woke up Kyle, went for a walk then drove to the hospital. I was in labor for 15 1/2 hours on one hour of sleep, took no drugs whatsoever, cried, yelled and whined to Kyle, prayed, breathed, and stared deliriously at the clock. 5:22 pm you decided to join our family. October 17, 2014 was the hardest day of my life, but the absolute best day I’ve ever experienced. My life has changed for the better. You are a perfect example of what a human being should be. Your sweetness and innocence amazes me every single day. I could write a novel about your beautiful soul. I love you more than anything; an achy love I didn’t even know I had. Andrew Hopkins, you are by far the best thing that has ever happened to me. Thank you for giving me the greatest year of my life. Happy first birthday my silly Tweety bird!! Your dad and I love you so very much!

And now I officially have a one year old!

Talk to you soon

Leave a Comment

