Andrew’s Cake Smash Photo Session!

I really couldn’t wait to take Andrew’s cake smash photos!  My baby is turning one in 2 weeks and I wanted to take his photos a little early so that I would have time to print a few out for his birthday party.  His party is going to be Mickey Mouse themed so of course we went with a Mickey Mouse cake smash theme, too.  I’ve never taken cake smash photos before so I was a little nervous but it was so much fun and I think they turned out cute.

I borrowed a quilt stand from my Mom and bought a $30 roll of white photo backdrop paper off of Amazon.  I used a simple multi-colored pennant banner for a little background color and ordered Andrew the CUTEST little Mickey outfit from Etsy.  The cake turned out amazing!  A friend from high school has been making cakes for a little while now and she does such an awesome job so I hired her to make Andrew’s cake for the photos.  In my opinion, she doesn’t charge enough!  I was in love with the cake! 🙂  Thank you, Shaunae!

It was actually my brother’s birthday today and he said all he wanted was to watch Andrew’s cake smash for his birthday celebration.  We all had a great time watching him.  He actually didn’t want much to do with the cake though.  My mom, dad, Kyle, brother and sister-in-law were all trying to keep him on the paper and they had to keep putting him back in front of the cake.  Andrew would sit down in front of it, poke at it a little and then get up and run around.  Eventually he licked his fingers a little and I managed to get some good shots but it was funny that he really wasn’t that interested.  Towards the end of the shoot he was over it and started getting fussy.  What kid of mine doesn’t like sugar?!  Ai yi yi!

Here are a ton of the photos I took, enjoy!

IMG_0132

IMG_0133

IMG_0142

IMG_0143

IMG_0145

IMG_0158

IMG_0155

IMG_0151

IMG_0149

IMG_0148

IMG_0146

IMG_0162

IMG_0168

IMG_0170

IMG_0176

IMG_0179

IMG_0182

IMG_0185

IMG_0193

IMG_0194

IMG_0195

IMG_0199

IMG_0213

IMG_0214

IMG_0216

IMG_0220

I also took a few of Andrew with the true birthday boy, silly Uncle Cale!

IMG_0207

IMG_0206

IMG_0203

I can’t believe my baby is going to be one in 2 weeks!

Talk to you soon

Leave a Comment

