Pale-O My (plus a homemade paleo cereal recipe)

Paleo.  I’m sure most of you have heard of this “diet”?  I don’t like calling it a diet though.  It’s just a way of eating.  It’s kind of like the “caveman’s diet” in the sense that you don’t eat anything processed.  I did Paleo about a year and a half ago (I can’t believe it’s been that long!) and I did it for a strict 30 days.  I felt wonderful!  No sugar, no dairy, no grains, no processed foods. Here is what you are allowed to eat:  Meat, fish/seafood, fruits, veggies, eggs, nuts/seeds, healthful oils, and maple syrup/REAL honey for your sweetener.

I’ve decided to try this again for at least another 30 days, hopefully much longer.  I’m not going to be as strict this time though because hey, things come up!  I don’t like stressing about going somewhere and not being able to eat what is served.  It’s also really hard to prepare so much when you have a little one.  I am still going to allow myself beans every now and then, and rice every now and then, they aren’t THAT bad.  I’m also going to give myself one cheat per week, I think that’s fair!  I also think a cheat meal is important for people trying to lose weight.  If you totally dive into something and you don’t allow yourself a craving then I think you actually want that craving even more, and this is when people think about it so much that they just can’t take it anymore and eat an entire box of donuts instead of just allowing yourself one donut.  You know?  Give yourself a break.  It’s 2015, order a pizza if you want, but don’t go crazy.  If you order that pizza on a Monday, then you do have to be disciplined and not eat anything off track until the next Monday, okay?  Okay.  It’s hard, I know it’s hard, but this is your health we’re talking about!  That’s why I do it, honestly.  I try not to think about weight too much.  I had serious image issues regarding weight when I was younger, specifically in high school, and I’ve come a long way from there.  I focus on health.  I have a son and I want to live as long as I possibly can for him.  I also want to be as healthy as I can because look, you can do more when you’re healthy.  Things happen and tragedy hits out of know where and that’s awful, and it’s out of your control, but why not use what you were given to make sure your life is as long as it can be; you CAN control what you fuel your body with.

I started my first Paleo day yesterday and it went great!  Well, okay it’s been alright.  I went grocery shopping last week in preparation for Paleo starting this week and I kind of forgot about lunch…I know that’s weird but I was just focused on breakfast and dinner.  I was packing my lunch Sunday night for Monday’s work day and realized I didn’t have a whole lot to take with me to work.  I ended up eating a lettuce wrap with hummus, carrots and kalamata olives in it…yeah.  Not that great.  I also brought an apple and some almond butter though and that was a nice “dessert” after my “lunch”. 🙂  Today I’m doing a tuna wrap, but no mayo in the tuna, just plain ol’ tuna with a squeeze of lemon and some other veggies.  That should be much better!

Breakfast was something I was looking forward to because I made a homemade cereal the last time I went Paleo and I really liked it.  It’s basically a mixture of assorted nuts, shaved coconut and then you add banana and almond milk in the morning.  I drizzle mine with a little honey, too. Yum!  Forgive my measurements, I just buy what’s available and buy what nuts I like, then sorta just mix it all together.  Make sure all of the nuts you buy are raw; nothing added to them like salt.

Here is a recipe for my homemade Paleo “cereal”:

-one small bag of shelled walnuts,

-one small bag of cashew pieces,

-one small bag of slivered almonds,

-one small bag of sunflower seeds,

-one small bag of unsweetened coconut shavings,

-a bundle of bananas,

-a carton of Almond Breeze unsweetened original almond milk (my favorite),

-and a container of honey

IMG_2132

*Mix the nuts, seeds and coconut together in a ziploc.  In the morning measure a 1/2 cup of the nut mixture, pour into a bowl, top with some almond milk, one banana cut into bit sized pieces, and a drizzle of honey.  It sounds simple and it is!  It’s so good, too!  You can add any kind of nut you like and any fruit as well.

I hope you enjoy it!

Talk to you soon

Leave a Comment

