Romance

Romance, by definition, is “a feeling of excitement and mystery associated with love”.  Personally, I think romance comes in many different forms.  Humans naturally need romance, they need to feel loved and they usually want a partner in life.  I was lucky enough to find my partner when I was 18 years old and I really don’t know what I would do without him.  He is a wonderful father and we make a pretty good team parenting Andrew together.  Kyle and I are so different and sometimes it can be hard to understand each other, but we still love each other nonetheless.  He is calm, relaxed and reserved, kind and free.  I am slightly hyper, fairly outgoing, nice but stubborn and firm.  He always sees the good in any situation and the best in people; I am positive but only to a point and I definitely believe there are evil people out there.  We’re just different.  I love that he tells me to relax when I’m freaking out, even if I get mad at him in the heat of the moment; I love that he tells me to do whatever I want as long as it makes me happy, even if it costs us an arm and a leg; I love that he is so kindhearted and giving, even when I don’t think some people deserve it; and I love that he is always so positive, even when I feel like the world is ending.  Love is not a fairytale by any means.  Marriage is hard and you truly have to work at it but it’s so beautiful, too.

Okay, this post has taken a turn from where I was originally headed but it’s nice to write down pleasant feelings about my husband and I.  My point of all of this is that even when you have children, you still need romance (you saw that coming right?) *wink wink*.  Andrew is the best thing that has ever happened to me but he has put a slight damper on the romance between Kyle and I.  Don’t get me wrong, we are happy but lack of sleep and exhaustion kick in when you have a baby.  It’s become all about Andrew and although I’m honestly okay with that, I still believe Kyle and I need our own time together, for us as a couple.  So…this weekend we took a little overnight date trip, just the two of us, to a small town by the ocean.  My mom babysat Andrew for us (thanks, Mom!), and we headed out to the coast!  I was really looking forward to the trip but it exceeded my expectations.  It was absolutely perfect!

IMG_1899

My mom came to our house Thursday night and Kyle and I left the next morning around 10 am.  We had a two and a half hour drive ahead of us but we just took our time getting there.  We stopped for lunch in Boonville at the Boonville General Store and the food was great.  We sat outside in the sunshine and I sipped on an iced latte.  Oh how I love iced lattes.  After lunch we decided to do a little champagne tasting so we went to Scharffenberger Cellars where we ordered two glasses of champagne and sat outside.  Next we stopped at Roederer Estate and bought two tastings.  It was such a beautiful day and we were having a great time already.  After our tastings we drove the rest of the way to Little River and checked into our hotel.  It was an older hotel with a ton of character and it was really cute.  We still had about 3 hours until our dinner reservation so we drove 20 minutes to Fort Bragg and walked along Glass Beach.

IMG_1905IMG_1911

I remember visiting Glass Beach as a kid and it was so cool.  I remember collecting a little jar full of colored glass from the beach.  Apparently in the early 1900’s to mid 1900’s cities dumped all sorts of trash, including tons of glass bottles, in the ocean.  The ocean waves somehow crushed this glass and over time smoothed out the edges, creating beautiful glass pieces.  Glass beach has become a huge tourist attraction.  When Kyle and I stopped this time we only found one piece of glass, probably because everyone has already collected it all, so we were a little disappointed but the beach and the views were breathtaking.  We walked the beach, took a few pictures and left.  I was surprised at how warm it was by the ocean as well.  Normally it’s freezing on the beaches around this area but it was fine; still a little cold but not bad at all.  We drove back to the hotel and relaxed for a while then we went to dinner at a tiny little fish restaurant on the water, which happened to be right across the street from our hotel.  The food was great!  The fish was pretty much all caught locally.  We enjoyed an entire bottle of wine and stuffed ourselves with Halibut and Sole.  We had one last drink at our hotel bar and then went to bed.  The day was seriously amazing.  Kyle was playing golf early the next morning so I slept in (which I haven’t done in 10 months!) and ordered room service.  Kyle wouldn’t be done golfing until 2 pm or so, so I checked out of the hotel and drove to a different beach.  I grabbed an almond milk latte from a drive thru first (which was actually the worst almond milk latte I’ve ever had LOL) and then sat on the beach for an hour all by myself.  I’m telling you, I was all smiles!  I love Andrew so much and my favorite and best days are spent with him, but this trip was so wonderful.  I haven’t had that much fun with Kyle in a long time and I think we both needed to get away for just a couple of days.  It was truly perfect.

IMG_1925IMG_1959IMG_1931

We’re back home now and Andrew is sound asleep in his crib.  My mom went back home this morning and I ran my usual Sunday errands this afternoon.  Although we’re back and experiencing a full on reality, I’m still feeling giddy and relaxed.  Our “date” trip was exactly what we needed to feel like a young married couple again.  Again, the point of my story is to communicate the fact that even though you love your kids more than anything, you need to love your partner just as much.  I’m lucky to be married to Kyle and I hope that romance, no matter what form, lives in both of our hearts forever.  You have to work at it sometimes and make an effort, but it’s so worth it!

IMG_1975

Talk to you soon

2 thoughts on “Romance

  1. Wonderful get-away! We just celebrated our 35th. And as you already know, it is so important to keep the marriage fresh. Too many times people replace their love of the relationship with the love of a child. There is room for both. Children leave, and guess who’s left?

    Like

Leave a Comment

